iphone dump 2014 106

President – Kathie LaForge
Kathie and her husband have lived in Vanderhoof for 40 years.  “It has been a great place to raise our two sons and I’ve had career and volunteer opportunities that I would never have had in a bigger centre.”  Kathie’s work history is strong in leadership, organizational management and community building.  Her most recent roles have been Community Liaison Officer for New Gold Inc., Blackwater Project and Economic Development Officer for the District of Vanderhoof.  Kathie has also worked for Service Canada for over 30 years as a Program Officer, Employment Officer and Office Manager.
Kathie’s volunteer accomplishments are many.  Her current roles include Chair of the Vanderhoof Community Foundation; Director of the Nechako Kitimaat Development Fund Society and Director of the Vanderhoof Aquatic Centre Society.  Previously significant roles have been with organizations such as 16-97 Economic Alliance; Community Futures – Stuart Nechako; Northern Wood Forum; Nechako Valley Credit Union; Vanderhoof Air Show Society and Chamber of Commerce.
“I have seen the opportunities that Community Foundations have brought to other communities and believe that we can do the same here.  We are a very giving community and we all like to see our donated funds coming back to help fill the needs right here at home.  I encourage you to consider donating to this organization and together we can make Vanderhoof better today, tomorrow and forever!”
Treasurer – Ken Simon
Ken’s family was raised in Vanderhoof.  His children and grandchildren now work and reside in Prince George.  “It is very rewarding to me to be in close proximity to my family and to be able to continue enjoying quality time with them.  I currently enjoy the activities of running, no-contact hockey, playing pickleball, biking, fishing and hiking and whatever other outdoor activities that may interest me at the time.”
Ken earned his Bachelor of Commerce at the University of Alberta and articled as a student of Chartered Accountancy in Prince George.  He moved to Vanderhoof in 1984 to start a new accounting business, as Owner and President of Kenneth B. Simon Corp.  The business grew over the years and with his staff offered a wide base of service in the areas of accounting, audit and business consulting to individuals, corporations and not for profit societies including personal income tax, corporate income tax, estates and trust taxation, sales taxes and registered charity tax returns.  Although his accounting office was in Vanderhoof, the business served clients in Prince George, Fort St James and throughout British Columbia including Fort St. John, Smithers, Burns Lake, Vancouver and Victoria.  Ken officially retired in 2016 after having sold his business to MNP.
Ken’s many volunteer activities have included director, treasurer or president positions in Vanderhoof’s Rotary Club; Airshow Society; Chamber of Commerce; Duck’s Unlimited as well as Kinsmen and Curling Clubs.  Ken’s strong desire to give back to his community is demonstrated as he continues serving with his skills as a Chartered Professional Accountant in the role of Treasurer for the Vanderhoof Community Foundation.
Secretary – Fiona Lamprecht
Since settling here in 2003, Fiona has actively contributed to her community while raising her three children.  Most recently she took on the role of Reporter/Editor for Black Press serving Vanderhoof, Fraser Lake and Fort St James.  Previous employment includes contract work as Office Administrator for New Gold, Blackwater Project; Early Child Development Project Co-ordinator for Success by Six and Community Grant Writer for the District of Vanderhoof.  Fiona has also worked as Site Administrator at Riverside Place, Seniors Supportive Housing & assisted Living programs for Nechako Valley Community Services Society and Life Skills Worker for Northern Health.  She continues freelance Writing/Editing and Grant Writing.
Fiona currently volunteers as Secretary Director for the Vanderhoof Community Foundation.  Former volunteer roles include Researcher for a Long Term Care Survey for the Office of the BC Seniors Advocate; Housing Committee Member for the District of Vanderhoof; Executive Secretary for WL McLeod Elementary Parent Advisory Council; Secretary Director for Community Futures Stuart Nechako; Vice Chair for Nechako Markets Development Society and helped coach Steve Nash Junior Youth Basketball for a couple of seasons as well.
Fiona’s roots are in Johannesburg, South Africa, where she earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Social Sciences and a Diploma in Business Management.  She gained corporate experience in Brand Management, Marketing and Distribution for multinationals Unilever and Coca-Cola.
“It is a privilege working with my fellow Directors towards the vision of the Vanderhoof Community Foundation.  My wish is for Vanderhoof area citizens to gain awareness of the benefits and get into the habit of supporting this community-owned Endowment Fund – even a little bit will make a lasting difference.  It’s the best return on investment opportunity to finance grants for community building initiatives starting now and continuing the legacy for perpetuity.”
Director – Priscilla Mueller
Priscilla is a member and representative Councilor of the Saik’uz First Nation.  She is also a sitting member of the Grouse Clan and the grand-daughter of the late Celina John, who was a very respected Saik’uz Elder.  Priscilla has always been a community builder, local organization board member and volunteer.
Priscilla worked as an Aboriginal Support Worker for School District #91 for 15 years and is presently on a leave so that she could dedicate more time to being a Council member for Saik’uz.  She is a board member for Carrier Sekani Family Services, Major Projects Coalition Board member and the Vanderhoof Community Council committee member.
Priscilla is dedicated to supporting our communities to come together to build a strong working relationship so that we can move forward in a positive way.
Bios and Photos coming for:
Vice President – Roy Spooner
Director – Ruth McIntosh
Director – Mary Burkholder
Director – Shelley Funk